Eighth Annual Manheim Touchdown Club Banquet
Tuesday, May 16, 2006
Reception at 5:30 PM with Dinner at 7:00
Lancaster Host Resort & Conference Center

Bobby Ross (Guest Speaker)Head Football Coach at Army

Bobby Ross (Guest Speaker)
Head Football Coach at Army

Tuesday night, before an overflow crowd at the Lancaster Host Resort, the veteran coach — who is set to begin his third season calling the shots at Army this fall — shared some life lessons as the keynote speaker at the eighth annual Manheim Touchdown Club awards banquet.

“Winners set goals for themselves and reach beyond what they’re capable of, and you’ll never get better if you don’t,” the Virginia native told the captive audience in his smooth southern drawl.

“Winners are people of character,” he continued. “And you judge that on how they handle adversity. People of character are ‘we’ people, not ‘me’ people.”

Ross encouraged the student-athletes in the crowd to have the courage to do the right thing within their peer group, and to have the courage to say no to the wrong things.

“Always remember the three R’s,” he said. “Respect yourself. Respect authority. And take responsibility for your actions.”

Pat Principe from WGAL will be the Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

2005 L/L League High School Player of the Year Finalists
Pat Bostick – Junior – Manheim Township – 6′ 4″ – 220 – QB
Jared Odrick – Senior – Lebanon – 6′ 6″ – 242 – G/DE
Graham Zug – Senior – Manheim Central – 6′ 4″ – 170 – WR/DB (winner)

Manheim Central High School Scholarship Award Winners
Nicholas Brudowsky, Track, Cross Country
Benjamin R. Eyer, Track, Cross Country
E. Nathan Mast, Football, Basketball, Baseball
Jeffery N. Ochoa, Football, Wrestling
Emily A. Swarr, Tennis, Soccer
Graham A. Zug, Football, Basketball

2005 College Football Player of the Year
Big School Division I & IAA
Chad Henne – Wilson High School – QB – University of MichiganChad is a repeat winner.

Small School Division II & III
Adam Brossman – Lebanon High School – WR – Lebanon Valley College

2005 Gene Upshaw Division II Lineman of the Year Award
Michael McFadden – Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan. Michael’s home town is Saginaw, Michigan. Click here for more info.

Share →